Epsilon Tau Omega History

In April 19, 1952, sixteen Alpha Kappa Alpha women visualized the many contributions a local chapter would make to the Greenville community and initiated the founding of Epsilon Tau Omega Chapter (ETO). ETO was founded as the 43rd Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority under the direction of Zatelle R. Turner, the South Atlantic Regional Director at the time. ETO was originally included with the North Carolina and Tennessee Region. Several years later, it became a part of the dynamic Georgia, Florida, South Carolina – South Atlantic Region.

Charter Members

Charter Officers: Helen Anderson, Vera Dockery, Evelyn E. King, Frances L. Anderson, Mae Ruth Thompson, Elizabeth Edwards, Annie Jenkins Bates, Lottie Beal Gibson, Thomasena Jones, Leone Young, Xanthene S. Norris

Charter Members: Romona Baskerville, Georgia Latimer, Clareece Schell, Nell Othella Wardworth and Lena White.